What if THIS is it?

I have a ‘runners world’ daily calendar on my desk, given to me as a gift. Every day I’m in the office, I’ll rip off the previous day(s) page and read the next.

Every now and then one of the pages will have a quote or thought that sticks with me. These pages end up tacked up on my office wall with the intent to review the thought later.

One of the first to get the honour was this:

“Ask any athlete, we all hurt at times”Jackie Joyner-Kersee

I identified  at the time because I was diving deep into some long-distance training during some pretty crappy weather. Sometimes it’s good to know that even the elites are suffering the same fate.

I have just 3 others on my wall, two are haunting me:

“Lord, make me so uncomfortable that I will do the very thing I fear”Ruby Dee

and

“A sobering thought: what if, at this very moment, I am living up to my full potential?”- Jane Wagner

Now that I write them, they must be related. I KNOW that I am not living up to my full potential, and that’s uncomfortable. At what point will my lack of comfort push me to do what I fear?

I work hard, and do more than what is asked or expected of me. But this better not be it. I need to feel that my footprint is going to be deeper, that my impact will last just a little longer than I will on this earth.

A mid-life crisis? Maybe.

Or maybe I’m just living life with a little more thought.

So, today I woke up and thought ‘I can do a little more’. More is making time for a webinar tonight. More is pushing myself just a little harder on today’s run. More is taking time to listen to others, rather than preparing my answer while they’re talking. More is sticking to the budget so that the long term financial plan gives me the time I’m dreaming of to do…well, more.

What drives you towards your goals? What makes you get up and do it again…and again…and again?

 

 

Leave a Reply

