Pay Day! (ep 5)

Hey fellow penny-pinchers, followers of frugalness, disciples of debt-reduction! Welcome to this weeks episode of “Show me the MONEY (that I have paid against debt)!”

Total applied to LOC:        $1250

Current LOC Balance:       $11,676.43 (Down under $12k!)

Progress on LOC to date:  $2,756

Car Loan:                                $16,424.01 -no change, and I haven’t checked the balance again. Roll on June, I’ll check in with the lender then.

A short list of things I have done to move my financial needle during the last 2 weeks:

  1. Called the UK government to get an statement regarding the amount I would need to pay into the government pension this year in order to keep me current (I can pay into this pension since I am a UK citizen, spent 5 years in the UK working, and just might end up retiring there).
  2. Stuck to my budget plan…even if it was a little (VERY) tight towards the end of the week!
  3. Reconciled my bank account after a weekend of spending (on a very important person – my Mom!)

I had budgeted for new running shoes ($150), and instead have spent $60 on new work shoes and $45 on new work clothes. WHOOPS. Guess that means I’ll either be waiting for new shoes, or will be pulling back on other budget items and scouring the internet for a great deal on my preferred brand. I just can’t bring myself to pay retail!

I ended up very close to the bone at the end of the last 2-week period- too many coffees on the go etc. Those $3/day really do add up! So I’m aiming to be a little more cautious this week so that next week doesn’t produce unnecessary anxiety.

Pitter-patter, let’s get at ‘er!

 

Leave a Reply

