Pay Day (ep.6)

Hey! So…how ya been? It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve checked in with you guys, but fear not, I have not fallen off the debt-free wagon! I’ll get to what’s been happening in a minute, but first let’s check in with the numbers .

Total applied to LOC:        $677

Current LOC Balance:       $11,054.44 (Was under $10,999…then interest happened- boo!)

Progress on LOC to date:  $3,433

Car Loan:                               $16,424.01 -no change, but June is around the corner and the update is coming!

So, some progress for sure but certainly not as significant in weeks past. I won’t lie, it’s been a tough couple of weeks. I think I had a mini-melt down a couple of weeks ago and just felt like a couldn’t do it all and what I was doing was pretty crappy. Ever had one of those weeks?

While there was a couple of occurrences that were hard (a family medical emergency, a run-in with a colleague I admire) in isolation neither one were so bad that I wouldn’t be able to overcome them on any particular day.

Couple that with feeling tired and overwhelmed by my daily commute, early morning runs, wanting to write and struggling with identifying my role in my new home (and new family!), I had just had enough.

I snapped at someone who really didn’t deserve it, and I really should have known better. The resulting disappointment in myself was dreadful. I had that awful pit-of-the-stomach feeling you get when you know you were in the wrong.

I took a deep breath, faced my demons and stepped up to apologize and make things right. I think were on the other side of it, but it’s up to me to repair and figure out how not to get in that state again.

Seems like I’m not the only one dealing with some hiccups, and thanks to J. Money I’m ok telling you about mine.

I’m not quitting anything, but when I originally started this blog I had planned to write twice a week – Mondays and Wednesdays. It was going ok for a while, but then it got to be too much and I was getting stressed out over not writing. And that wasn’t the point in the first place.

For now, I’ll continue to use it as a place to keep myself accountable. That might just be the pay-day updates for a while, and maybe a few other posts when I have the time and feel inspired to write. This is supposed to be fun, not extra work, and I’m going to have to remind myself of that every now and then.

So, goals for the next pay-day update in two weeks:

  1. Get the LOC under $10k
  2. Update the car loan balance
  3. Keep calm and remain on budget

See you then! (or before, but definitely then. Keeping it light, people!)

 

2 thoughts on “Pay Day (ep.6)

Leave a Reply

